Do bad Christians prove that Christianity is not effective?

[“There is a man in the city where I live, who lives on the streets – he believes in god, he tells everyone who walks past him. Apart from the clothes on his back he carries two things. The first is a bible – black, dirty and old – I dare say with some pages missing (maybe, but not sure) – but it is tatty. The second thing he carries is a bottle, in a brown paper bag (drinking on the street is against the law even if you are a tramp). So – if he prays for god to help him, and he has god – then why is he on the streets with his bottle? I would believe your story if every alcoholic who prayed for god was healed – but they are not. Many vicars drink, it is a running joke – vicars and judges drink. My local vicar drank – a lot, red face, always smelt like he had a few – nice guy, but defiantly had a drink problem – must to the irritation of the WI no doubt.”]

There are many reasons to why this change does not happen, same as when you go to your GP he will not prescribe you with same medication that someone else is prescribed with due to cold. You may have other underlying conditions that may need addressing. Different medication is used to tackle different root cause issues. Secondly if one is not letting God help him than you could hardly blame God for that. Or for that matter say this is not evidence. I am always confused by hearing you replies. There are times when you make loads of sense and seam to follow logic other times you just make things up as you go. You must be careful that your comments are not missing vital evidence if you are going to use them to disprove Gods existence or his work.

[“So no AA meetings don’t prove that god exists – what I need is real proof, not circumstantial second hand stories, or how finding god in someone’s life changed them for ever – I want real proof and then I will believe.”]

You won’t get this by demanding it from God. God loves the humble that is what the Bible tells us. True searcher is patient and observant, waiting and asking, i.e. you will never trap a bird by shouting from the top of your voice by saying “COME HERE Birdie”

[“It is not a test – no trick questions – if god revealed himself to me I would believe. But enough about god – what about Satan – he has never appeared to me either…”]

One of the main reasons I have maintained this conversation with you is because I wanted to show you that you have no excuses left to ignore God. All your objections are excuses that we try to think of so hard in order to justify our rebellion against God. It is true that God loves you and wants to build on his relationship with you. The question is, are you willing to give it a go? Don’t worry about the Satan, he is there listening to everything you say and I’m sure he does his best to bring sudden reasons to you on why you should ignore Christianity.

But note this, you come back again and again, you may think I will have fun with Defend the word. But God knows better, you may think I have just thought of new question I can ask, new objection that I read somewhere on the internet. But God simply continues to say to you as father would to his child. I love you, you are my creation, I have died for you, and nothing is too good, or too expensive or too important for you. Just come to me, test me and you will find me. Get on your knees; pray tonight, say God I would love to find out about you, please reveal yourself to me.

I don’t know what God would do to get you to believe in him, this may be some dream or you may come across a friend who become Christian, but I’m sure God will not ignore your request. What separates you from God is your sin, what you need to do is acknowledge that you are in no position to demand, but you can still ask, God tells us we get his grace (We get that which we don’t deserve, his mercy, love, kindness and many good gifts) as much as we get his mercy (He does not give us that which we deserve, punishment and separation from God).

God of love looks at you and knows your needs, he understands you medical problems, your family issues and your physiological issues and philosophical questions. But his primary objective is to get you saved, away from self destruction and to a complete renewal, to healing to fulfilling your full potential. He wants you to receive his goodness and give him praise when you start to understand that he is the one that initiates this relationship. It is not you that find him; it is him that finds you. It is he that calls you; it is he that longs for sinners to stop, think and ask. God does not want you to lose out or miss out on anything. This is what devil tells the people, when you surrender to God, you don’t lose freedom, note that even today you are governed by fear, paranoia, sickness, so lets not pretend that we got it all buttoned up.

Bob Dylan was right “It may be the Devil or It may be the Lord but you are going have to serve somebody”. The illusion of freedom is something that philosophy of Humanism attempts to sell us as credible, to all of us in the western world. But nothing can be further from the truth, you need to work and therefore even today, you have to submit to your boss, you have to obey all the laws of the country and so on. If you want real freedom you need to understand that, this can only be found in God.

It is wonderful to hear others when they say I’m Christian and then I’m mechanic, or I’m Christian and then I’m the local GP. You only find this out when you receive Gods forgiveness and his adoption. God is after you, the fact that you persist in asking is proof enough for me. Question is will you answer back, will you slow down, and will you say, speak God I’m listening?

I will give you few Bible verses you can look at tonight and pray that God helps you understand them better. Let God guide you trough this, its gospel, the good news, not bad news. It’s about Gods love for you and what he can do for you, not what you can do for him.

On our Human situation

Rom 3:23 for all have sinned and come short of the glory of God,

This includes you and me, every one. Question is where does this take you and me? Now that we have identified this chronic disease, can we find out what is the solution?

Rom 6:23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Bible tells us that this sin leaves us in a very unenviable position, but with the Gift of God which is available to us, all you need to do is take it and make it your personal promise.

Joh 3:16-17 For God so loved the world that He gave His only-begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. 17  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but so that the world might be saved through Him.

God loves you, if you go to him he will come to you, but this requires your action of responding to Gods action. He will work on your heart and you will need to respond to it. Otherwise as I keep on saying to people, note that God does not force people to Heaven, he does not want to change Heaven into Hell.

Joh 14:6 Jesus said to him, I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life; no one comes to the Father but by Me.

Bible is very prescriptive in the way of our salvation, if there was any other way God would have used it. This is why this sacrificial gift of Love, is absolutely required, this does not mean you will lose out or miss out on anything. This is a free gift to you and me.

Eph 2:8-9 For by grace you are saved through faith, and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God, 9  not of works, lest anyone should boast.

So you have loads of information here, to think about and pray over, let God do his work in you. Let him bring you that necessary healing for which you have been longing for so long. Let tomorrow be a new day that bring new Joy that you didn’t know until now.

I will continue to pray that God opens your eyes and open your heart, both are required one to see your need for him, and second to open your heart and give you willingness to invite him in.

Rev 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him and he with Me.

Choice is yours, but don’t deny or say that God is not interested in you, in fact this whole thing of me writing to you now could be his work, calling you to open up, wait and invite him into your life. All you need to do is ask, as I said before read and meditate on the Bible verses I have given you. Then simply ask God to be faithful to his word, invite him in. I don’t promise you that your life will be problem free, but I promise you that God will give you strength to deal with anything that life may throw at you.

Kind regards

Defend the word

About defendtheword

To contact us please send e-mail to defend.theword@ntlworld.com
This entry was posted in Atheism, Bible, Christ, Christianity, Church, Church History, Discernment, Evangelism, Faith, God, Jesus, News, Prayer, Religion, Stetement Of Faith, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do bad Christians prove that Christianity is not effective?

  1. misunderstoodranter says:

    So are you saying the Tramp is a bad Christian and this is why he is a drunk tramp?

    I don’t think that – I think he had had a disaster in his life – my be starting with the booze, and has lost his family his job and now lives on the streets – he clings to his bible, because it is the only hope that he has.

    So if the bible is a symbol for god, and it is the tramp’s hope then this surely is the ultimate faith. This man needs god more than anyone I know – and yet god still does not answer his prayers – why?

  2. No you completely misunderstood that, I’m guessing not wanting things to be true you make any possibly excuse that you can think of.

    First you assume that he prays for the right things, he could be praying for more Whisky. So what we need is detailed knowledge, which would be required in order to understand each individual case. Secondly addiction not only shows our weakness but also our reluctance to accept the help that we can find in God, and is readily available to us.

    Talk to any person that deals with addicts, they all say that you are 50% there once the addict acknowledges that he/she has a problem. Same applies with sin in our lives. You can not move on with God unless you acknowledge that there is a poison in your life which is stopping you from seeing things the way they should be seen. But also remember to refer; to other answers included in the first reply they are still just as relevant. You can not force anyone to accept your help, invitation is there but you have to respond to the call.

  3. misunderstoodranter says:

    What you describe is not testable – but I am not surprised by your answer, it is what I expected.

    The tramp might be praying for more Whiskey, would god give him the Whiskey? I am sure the man would like a hot shower, clean clothes, a hot meal and a warm bed – and I bet you he prays for them often particularly on a cold night.

    [Talk to any person that deals with addicts, they all say that you are 50% there once the addict acknowledges that he/she has a problem.]

    You seem to have done a U-Turn here – so it is the people that need to accept that they have problem, and not god’s intervention that matters?

    What is a sin anyway?

  4. [“What you describe is not testable – but I am not surprised by your answer, it is what I expected.”]

    Come on, we are not dealing with testable things not even to start with, stop pretending that this is provable diagnosis of the events that you describe. Unless these are highly personal to you, so unless these events are personal I don’t think you have the right to take the high ground as someone who is going to take logical measured approach.

    [“The tramp might be praying for more Whiskey, would god give him the Whiskey? I am sure the man would like a hot shower, clean clothes, a hot meal and a warm bed – and I bet you he prays for them often particularly on a cold night.”]

    Actually as someone who had real life dealings with one drank in particular I can tell you that after getting him dressed and fed, spent time listening him, with sencire attempt in trying to understand him. What I found is that this prolonged self pity led to his uncontrollable long period of self denial and refusal to accept help which was on offer. We even spent few days under same roof, alcoholism is addiction that needs to be broken.

    If you ask me if this man had good reasons to drown his sorrow then I would say yes he did, his family was killed in the Car accident, he lost his eye during one of his engineering expeditions to middle east. He was alone and needed help, when this help was offered, he was OK for few days but then for good and understandable reasons wanted to make it on his own. But this inevitable lead to him going back on the street. As he was not ready yet (At that time), I don’t know what happened to him since then.

    [“You seem to have done a U-Turn here – so it is the people that need to accept that they have problem, and not god’s intervention that matters? What is a sin anyway?”]

    Can I suggest that this was slightly selective hearing on your part; I would never exclude these two components. God does his work, but we have to respond to his action. Don’t blame God for our inaction. On the definition of sin, let me just put it in the simples possible way.

    Sin – It is a human rebellion against God, wanting to dethrone God and take his place, disregarding his laws. This infection was introduced to humanity through Satan, great skilful deceiver who will tell you 99% truth and just spin 1% lie and then watch me and you fall.

    Defend the word

  5. misunderstoodranter says:

    [Don’t blame God for our inaction]

    I don’t blame god – because I don’t believe in god. Blaming god is what religious people do.

    It would be ridiculous for me to blame snow white for life’s injustices, and it is just as ridiculous to me to blame god – because as far I am concerned god is no more real than the snow white.

  6. [“I don’t blame god – because I don’t believe in god. Blaming god is what religious people do. It would be ridiculous for me to blame snow white for life’s injustices, and it is just as ridiculous to me to blame god – because as far I am concerned god is no more real than the snow white.”]

    Actually I strongly suspect you do believe that possibility of God is significant, otherwise why bother coming back again and again. One can not disbelieve in God but at the same time say I’m intellectually honest about it, I can’t verify this claim, but I just know he is not there. I take you to be smarter than that, from all our previous conversations we had. So logically when you can prove it or disprove it you base your ideas on faith, there are no two ways about it. I look at the evidence that is available to us and I deduce that there must have been a creator, many examples give here on this blog. You look at the same evidence and say no its just coincidence, but both have to be based on faith that our propositions are correct.

Comments are closed.