Is the Bible really True? (John MacArthur)

First, the Bible is true because it gives us the experience it claims it will. For example, the Bible says God will forgive our sin (1 John 1:9). I believe that, and I can truly say that I have a sense of freedom from guilt. The Bible also says that “if any man is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come” (2 Corinthians 5:17). That’s what happened to me when I came to Jesus Christ. The Bible changes lives. Someone has said that a Bible that’s falling apart usually belongs to someone who isn’t. That’s true because the Bible can put lives together. Millions of people all over the world are living proof that that is true. Maybe you know one or two of them. They’ve experienced the Bible’s power.

About defendtheword

To contact us please send e-mail to defend.theword@ntlworld.com
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Archeology, Atheism, Bible, Christ, Christianity, Church, Church History, Discernment, Evangelism, Faith, God, Hedonism, Jesus, News, Photography, Prayer, Prophecy, Religion, Theology, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is the Bible really True? (John MacArthur)

  1. Lucifer says:

    OK, so you can say that the Bible is true because it makes you feel as if it is true and that is enough proof by itself.
    hmmm…

  2. You are only looking at the written comments, why don’t you listen to the video too?

    What you should consider, is that the word of God has the power to change people for the better. And that is what most people want, and to most people that is the strongest kind of evidence that they would demand. In other words, if you are miserable with your life and would like a change, what Bible is saying is that the God can provide you with that, and anyone of us could take up that challenge.

  3. Alyssa says:

    Alyssa: I must agree–this was a poor excerpt and to me doesn’t logically or substantially defend the faith. And I’m a Christian. People have also “experienced” the power of Buddah, you know?

    Defend the Word
    : Hi Alyssa, can I say that I’m somewhat surprised by your answer, you are either nominal Christian that is still searching for the reason to believe, which is fine or have misunderstood the reasoning here.

    As someone who has been a Christina for number of years and has actively been involved in evangelising I can confirm that for most of those who become Christians today are not interested in Apologetics (Defending your faith) . In fact as someone who has actively studied apologetics for over 10 years I can tell you with great confidence that apologetic is geared up for Christians. It is to build an arsenal for the on-going battle that carries on in our lives.

    I need to know as a Christina if my faith is solid, when people tell me that Evolution destroys the need for God, I need to know the answer to questions of Biblical accuracy and historical alleged discrepancies. But for those on the outside they are mostly interested if God can give them peace of mind. If God can set them free from constant inability to find happiness, when they may have everything yet cannot find any joy. This is what God can only do, and personal is just as valid as “Objective” evidence, in fact I can have all the evidence I like but if my life is not personally touched then I’m still heading for hell.

    I have in the past gained agreement from people that what I was saying made every sense to them but they still refused to commit their lives to God. On the other hand I have had friends who have told me “Listen I don’t understanding what you are saying to me, but I do believe that there is a God. And in fact as I hear what you are saying my heart is filed with peace and my faith is simply based on my experience of knowing God personally. And what amazes me more than anything else is that from this shake starting point they grow into understanding the Bible far deeper than most people that have superficial and intellectual beginning of faith.

    I have friends that use to be alcoholics and one that was a drug addict, and guess what after many years they are still free of the habit that enslaved them for many years previously. And no evidence is as good as this, and guess what this is what tends to happen when they simply read the bible and believed that these words have real power to set free. And believe me most people would prefer this to any historical evidence. Whilst I love apologetics it is by far my favourite subject it comes way short when compared with simplicity you find in the Bible.

    Jesus knew the inner thoughts of those who were testing him, and that is so powerful, when people ask you questions testing your faith you could achieve far greater victory when you confront person questioning you as to why he/she is asking the question then your ability to provide the answer which you picked off the shelf.
    For example when modern atheists raise the question of suffering and God, like Sam Harries often does, you can either start 500 page answer or simply ask him, where does his sense of right and wrong come from?

    If we have simply evolved as he suggest we have, then conscience, sense of guilt and sense of right and wrong are simply product of our evolutionary process. In which case why ask the question, and if he cannot explain where and how come we have evolved this ability to discern between good and evil then he ought to start thinking about it. Bible has clear answer to it, i.e. we are created in the image of God, in other words we are designed to react like that.

    So I hope in the future you do not dismiss this very valuable personal evidence I would suggest that you listen and read more from Alvin Plantinga, you can find some of his videos on this blog. He is very smart philosopher world renown yet his greatest achievement is looking at this very subject, personal experience with God.

    In the end if we are all honest about this topic all that we know is through this process, you could not possibly start to learn if it is not for this very personal process of acquiring data and giving it an interpretation that starts from our own world view which goes through many experiences we may have had and catalogues them in our memory which we retrieve on a regular basis and use for every new acquired knowledge. If you consider it for one moment only you will have no option but to agree with it otherwise I would simply have to ask you, how come you give me your answer in the form you did at the very beginning about the Buddhism, unless you are able to demonstrate personal information. And if you tell me that that is precisely what you are battling against I would simply repeat the question on what basis how did you derive to that point to distinguish what is logical and what is illogical personal experience. And lastly I would ask you does personal have to be illogical in fact whatever the answer they all have to be personally related to our ability to process this data. And if you are confused by now then I have done my job well, some information can only be understood by relating it to our personal experiences and guess what that is not as half bad as you may think it.

    God wanted us to make this process of discovering him very personal, there is no shame in it in fact that is exactly what apostle Paul says when he says that he is not ashamed of the gospel.

    I pray that you would consider this and pray about it in fact why not share it with your God get that deep relationship going it will only serve to strengthen you.

    Your Brother in Christ Jesus.

    Kind regards

    Defend the Word

  4. Alyssa: I must agree–this was a poor excerpt and to me doesn’t logically or substantially defend the faith. And I’m a Christian. People have also “experienced” the power of Buddah, you know?

    Defend the Word: Hi Alyssa, can I say that I’m somewhat surprised by your answer, you are either nominal Christian that is still searching for the reason to believe, which is fine or have misunderstood the reasoning here.

    As someone who has been a Christina for number of years and has actively been involved in evangelising I can confirm that for most of those who become Christians today are not interested in Apologetics (Defending your faith) . In fact as someone who has actively studied apologetics for over 10 years I can tell you with great confidence that apologetic is geared up for Christians. It is to build an arsenal for the on-going battle that carries on in our lives.

    I need to know as a Christina if my faith is solid, when people tell me that Evolution destroys the need for God, I need to know the answer to questions of Biblical accuracy and historical alleged discrepancies. But for those on the outside they are mostly interested if God can give them peace of mind. If God can set them free from constant inability to find happiness, when they may have everything yet cannot find any joy. This is what God can only do, and personal is just as valid as “Objective” evidence, in fact I can have all the evidence I like but if my life is not personally touched then I’m still heading for hell.

    I have in the past gained agreement from people that what I was saying made every sense to them but they still refused to commit their lives to God. On the other hand I have had friends who have told me “Listen I don’t understanding what you are saying to me, but I do believe that there is a God. And in fact as I hear what you are saying my heart is filed with peace and my faith is simply based on my experience of knowing God personally. And what amazes me more than anything else is that from this shake starting point they grow into understanding the Bible far deeper than most people that have superficial and intellectual beginning of faith.

    I have friends that use to be alcoholics and one that was a drug addict, and guess what after many years they are still free of the habit that enslaved them for many years previously. And no evidence is as good as this, and guess what this is what tends to happen when they simply read the bible and believed that these words have real power to set free. And believe me most people would prefer this to any historical evidence. Whilst I love apologetics it is by far my favourite subject it comes way short when compared with simplicity you find in the Bible.

    Jesus knew the inner thoughts of those who were testing him, and that is so powerful, when people ask you questions testing your faith you could achieve far greater victory when you confront person questioning you as to why he/she is asking the question then your ability to provide the answer which you picked off the shelf.
    For example when modern atheists raise the question of suffering and God, like Sam Harries often does, you can either start 500 page answer or simply ask him, where does his sense of right and wrong come from?

    If we have simply evolved as he suggest we have, then conscience, sense of guilt and sense of right and wrong are simply product of our evolutionary process. In which case why ask the question, and if he cannot explain where and how come we have evolved this ability to discern between good and evil then he ought to start thinking about it. Bible has clear answer to it, i.e. we are created in the image of God, in other words we are designed to react like that.

    So I hope in the future you do not dismiss this very valuable personal evidence I would suggest that you listen and read more from Alvin Plantinga, you can find some of his videos on this blog. He is very smart philosopher world renown yet his greatest achievement is looking at this very subject, personal experience with God.

    In the end if we are all honest about this topic all that we know is through this process, you could not possibly start to learn if it is not for this very personal process of acquiring data and giving it an interpretation that starts from our own world view which goes through many experiences we may have had and catalogues them in our memory which we retrieve on a regular basis and use for every new acquired knowledge. If you consider it for one moment only you will have no option but to agree with it otherwise I would simply have to ask you, how come you give me your answer in the form you did at the very beginning about the Buddhism, unless you are able to demonstrate personal information.

    And if you tell me that that is precisely what you are battling against I would simply repeat the question on what basis how did you derive to that point to distinguish what is logical and what is illogical personal experience. And lastly I would ask you does personal have to be illogical in fact whatever the answer they all have to be personally related to our ability to process this data. And if you are confused by now then I have done my job well, some information can only be understood by relating it to our personal experiences and guess what that is not as half bad as you may think it.

    God wanted us to make this process of discovering him very personal, there is no shame in it in fact that is exactly what apostle Paul says when he says that he is not ashamed of the gospel.

    I pray that you would consider this and pray about it in fact why not share it with your God get that deep relationship going it will only serve to strengthen you.

    Your Brother in Christ Jesus.

    Kind regards

    Defend the Word

Comments are closed.